Total Search Results for "{{searchedParams.q}}" : {{}}
No search results for this term, please try again.


We’ve compiled the latest New York State Teacher Certification Exam (NYSTCE) requirements for each of our approved certification programs.

Most students complete their exams before applying for certification. You may register for all NYSTCEs online.

Academic Literacy Skills Test is no longer a requirement for any certification in the State of NY. NYSED has eliminated the ALST as a requirement for teacher certification.

NYSTCE Passing Scores

Education All Students (EAS) 

Passing Score: 520
Typically taken upon completion of pedagogy coursework and field experiences.

Content Specialty Test – Multi-Subject (CST – Multi-Subject)
Passing Score: 520 for each of three parts.
This exam must be completed at the grade level of the program and the level of certification sought: Birth-Grade 2, Grades 1-6, or Grades 7-12.

Content Specialty Test – Students with Disabilities (CST-Students with Disabilities)
Passing Score: 520

The Board of Regents has recently approved a temporary Safety Net for those candidates who have taken and failed Part Two: Mathematics of the Multi-Subject: Secondary Teachers (Grade 7–Grade 12) Content Specialty Test (CST).   For complete details, please visit:

(Education) Teacher Performance Assessment – EdTPA
Currently, Touro graduate education and special education students are doing the special education Teacher Performance Assessment, which has a passing score of 41. This is the only state certification exam that is not a sit-down exam but a project that has to be completed over a period, typically, of two or three months and then submitted for scoring.

Bilingual Education Assessment (BEA)
Passing Score: Pass
Can be taken at any time, once the candidate has achieved fluency in the language.

School Leadership Assessment (SLA)
School Building Leader Passing Score: 520
School District Leader Passing Score: 220

Required Exams by Program

Early Childhood Education and Special Education, Birth-Grade 2, Childhood Education and Special Education, Grades 1-6, and Students with Disabilities, Generalist, Grades 7-12

  1. Educating All Students Test (EAS)
  2. Content Specialty Test – Multi-Subject (in the specific grade level of the program)
  3. Content Specialty Test – Students with Disabilities
  4. (Ed) Teacher Performance Assessment -- (EdTPA)

Mathematics Education

  1. Educating All Students Test (EAS)
  2. Content Specialty Test (CST) - Mathematics
  3. edTPA - Secondary Mathematics

Instructional Technology

  1. Educating All Students Test (EAS)
  2. Content Specialty Test (CST) - Educational Technology Specialist

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

  1. Educating All Students Test (EAS)
  2. Content Specialty Test (CST) - ESOL

Teaching Literacy

  1. Educating All Students Test (EAS)
  2. Content Specialty Test (CST) - Literacy

School Leadership

  1. School Building Leadership Assessment (Part I and Part II) [Revised Sept. 2013]
  2. School District Leadership Assessment (Part I and Part II)

Bilingual Education
BEA - Your Target Language

To earn certification you must also have everything on file with NYSED that they require:

DASA (Bulling and Harassment Workshop) (copy of certificate must be mailed to NYSED)
Autism Workshop (copy of certificate must be mailed to NYSED)
Child Abuse and School Violence Prevention seminars are required by virtually every district, including the NYC DOE that hires teachers. If taken at Touro, have Touro send an official transcript to NYSED once your P (for pass) grades have been entered for these seminars.

Safety Nets EXTENDED for Educating All Students test (EAS), and certain redeveloped Content Specialty Tests (CSTs) and edTPA safety nets

At its April 2016 meeting, the Board of Regents, by emergency regulation, extended the safety nets for Educating All Students test (EAS), edTPA, certain redeveloped Content Specialty Tests (CSTs) and the new Multi-Subject: Secondary Teachers Grade 7 - Grade 12 Content Specialty Test

Any exam requirement to be satisfied by one of the safety nets must be satisfied on or before June 30, 2017. For example, a candidate who has failed the edTPA  may use applicable safety nets. However, all the requirements for the edTPA Safety Net must be met on or before June 30, 2017; the candidate will then have one additional year, until June 30, 2018, to complete all other requirements (example: coursework; DASA training).

Educating All Students test (EAS) Safety Net

The Department to amended the passing standard for the EAS to establish a temporary "Safety Net passing score" which, was applied retroactively to candidates who had taken the EAS since it became operational. The Safety Net passing score for the EAS has been set to 500. The original passing score was 520. The passing status has been adjusted in TEACH for those candidates that had a score between 500 and 520.

Candidates taking the EAS through June 30, 2017 will be evaluated under the Safety Net passing score automatically.

After June 30, 2017, the original EAS passing score (non-Safety Net) will be used to determine if a candidate has passed the assessment.

edTPA Safety Net

A candidate who applies for and meets all certification requirements for the initial certificate on or before June 30, 2018, except he/she took and did not receive a passing score on the required edTPA prior to June 30, 2017, may either:

  1. use a passing score on an ATS-W taken on or before April 30, 2014 (before the new certification examination requirements became effective), or
  2. use a passing score on an ATS-W taken prior to June 30, 2017 and after receipt of a failing numeric score on the edTPA or an "Incomplete" (I) with a numeric score on one or more task totals.

Content Specialty Tests (CSTs) Safety Net

Candidates who take and receive a failing score on one of the eligible redeveloped CSTs, will have the option of taking the corresponding predecessor CST (the Safety Net CST) in lieu of retaking the redeveloped CST on or before June 30, 2017. The redeveloped CST must be taken and failed first. Candidates who take a Safety Net CST without first taking the corresponding eligible redeveloped CST may not use that Safety Net CST for certification. In that instance, the candidate will have to retake the Safety Net CST after receiving a failing score on the redeveloped CST.

* Candidates who take one of the following Multi-Subject CST exams must complete all three parts of the Multi-Subject CST and receive a status of "Fail" on the assessment before they are eligible to take the Safety Net CST:

  • Teachers of Early Childhood (Birth – Grade 2)
  • Teachers of Childhood (Grade 1 – Grade 6)
  • Teachers of Middle Childhood (Grade 5 – Grade 9)

Consistent with the Redeveloped CSTs, the Safety Net CSTs are now computer based. The Safety Net CSTs will continue to be offered through June 30, 2017. Candidates will be able to register and pay for the Safety Net CST through the NYSTCE website.

Multi-Subject: Secondary Teachers (Grade 7 -12):

For information regarding the Safety Net for Part 2 of this CST, refer to: