Recognizing the Most Promising Future Educators

Kappa Delta Pi's Alpha Eta Sigma chapter is established at the Graduate School of Education; ninety students inducted.

May 18, 2015

On May 13, 2015, Touro College Graduate School of Education (GSE) held an initiation ceremony that officially marked the establishment of the Alpha Eta Sigma chapter of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP), the International Honor Society in Education, at GSE. Ninety students were inducted into the chapter.

Kappa Delta Pi was founded in 1911 to foster excellence in education, promote fellowship among teachers, and support and advance educators throughout the phases and levels of their teaching careers. Membership is limited to those in the top 20% of their graduating class. 

It is with great professional pride that we at the Graduate School of Education welcome these new members into the Alpha Eta Sigma chapter of Kappa Delta Pi,” said Arnold Spinner, interim dean, at the initiation ceremony. “It is indeed an honor to have Touro students join the ranks of such eminent scholars as John Dewey, Albert Einstein, Margaret Mead, Eleanor Roosevelt and George Washington Carver—all former members of the society.”

During the ceremony, Dr. Nadja Graff, vice president of Touro’s Division of Graduate Studies, delivered the welcoming address, in which she recognized the excellence in academic achievements of the new initiates. Chapter counselors Drs. Elaine Nikolakakos and Brenda Strassfeld briefly informed the newest members about the mission and vision of KDP, while Dr. Karen Nicholson, installing officer, initiated the charter members/officers and received the chapter charter on behalf of the school. Closing remarks were given by Kimberly Felix and Matthew Horn, chapter president and vice president.

Congratulations to the new inductees!

Arcadi, Toni Guha, Sulagna Pappalardo, Ava
Amouyal, Belinda Gosse, Zachary Pancetti, Allison
Arcuri, Marissa Hernandez, Lidette Paris, Melissa
Avelin, Kimberly Horn, Matthew Press, Marlyn
Balanos, Erica Horowitz, Chaya Prigge, Genevieve
Batalion, Esther Kane, RitaPrimus, Theresa Irma
Benetos, Joanne Kay, Kerri Lynn Rabin, Nechoma
Bevilacqua, Danielle Kienzle, Kathleen Ramos, Dominique
Briante, Alexa Kiernan, Meagan Rawlins, Kerry-Ann
Brod, Carly Koegel, Jillian Riss, Claribel
Brown, Paul Kowalski, Laura Rodriguez, Pedro
Brown, Syreeta Koziel, Michael Rudd, AnnMarie
Brush, Erin Kuo, Liyi Sardo, John
Canacoo, Jonathan Lee, David Simmons, Samantha
Carullo, Michael Lefkowitz, Samuel Soto, Jardy
Causi, Marie Causi Lesser, Matthew Spagnuolo, Kristy
Cimera, Adrianna Liu, Yee Stacy, Erin
Cohen, Erica Maglione Buono, Anna Steinfeld, Shira
Collado, Ana Margolis, Brooke T., Harriet
Crabb, Elizabeth Mediavilla, Maria Velez, Lindsey
Dalia, Pat Melendez, Tracey Walder, Ashley
DiMarco, Alexa Millan, Raychil Zaleskie, Kristin
Draghi, Amanda Miller, Amanda Bobley, Laurie
Draghi, Nicole Miller, Maurine Felix, Kimberly
Dufek-Varieur, Meaghan Moreland, Deborah Filpo, Aracelis
Ferrante, Bianca Nacovsky, Michelle Strassfeld, Brenda
Fried, Brittany Nagy, Tobi Spearman, Melissa
Gilroy, Zoe-Ann Nicholas, Kinshasa Abruzzo, Jenna
Gooden, Jerome Nikolakakos, Elaine Kennedy, Ann Marie
Gordon, Shantel Nygard, Jennifer